Home Cigar 101

Noob here! Could use some recommendations.

Ag03Ag03 Posts: 26
So I'm going to be receiving my first humidor and looking for some recommendations. I was wondering if there is anything that's tastes and smells like pipe tobacco ?
Any other recommendations are welcome as well.
However please keep in mind I'm new and am not currently budgeting for super expensive cigars :)

Comments

• alienmisprintalienmisprint Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭
    From what I understand, the new Kentucky Fire Cured from Drew Estates uses pipe tobacco. I believe they are set to release in September. Other than that, I'd recommend picking up a couple of samplers from here.

Have you smoked any cigars before? Do you have anything that you already know you like? If not, go with something that runs the gamut, the Oliva All-In One Collection is pretty good. You get maduros, cameroon, connecticut, sumatra, and criollo wrappers. It will help you get an idea of what you like, and where to go from there. The Top-Rated Baker's Dozen sampler is a good one too, although not as diverse in wrappers, it showcases a selection of brands and are all good cigars.
  • SmokeWISmokeWI Posts: 64
    Last winter, I sort of transitioned from cigars to pipe smoking for the winter season, something about an hour smoke in -30degree weather didn't seem appealing.

From my personal experience, I haven't had any cigars that taste like pipe tobacco, especially if you were an aromatics fan. I personally find that cigars give off more flavor than pipe tobacco, even aromatics.

As far as recommending cigars and brands at a lower price, I'll leave that to the other members who have a lot more experience than I do. I will say that that it might be a good idea to watch the sprint sale (www.cigarsprintsale.com) for any possible samplers that other members recommend, and when you do start getting a good feel for what you like, this is a great way to get some amazing deals.
  • VisionVision Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭✭✭