Home Pipes

tobacco suggestions

Just bought a cheap Pipe and some captain black 'dark'. I love cigars and have been wanting to try a Pipe for awhile. Not a fan of this tobacco. I am an aj fan when it comes to cigars, is there anything comparable in Pipe tobacco? I like the smell of the aromatics, but can't handle the taste. Maybe I'm just not a Pipe smoker, don't know yet. The dark is my only experience so far. It seemed wet too, about like chewing tobacco. So the smoke seemed wet/humid too. Is this just the nature of Pipe tobacco, or are there drier tobaccos, more like cigars. Or do I just need to let it dry out a little. Sorry for sounding like a complete noob, but well... I'm a complete noob!

Comments

• LiquidChaos66LiquidChaos66 Posts: 3,767 ✭✭✭✭
    as for tobaccos i cant give you any advice... i found a blend at my local B&M that only they carry. lol But as for the wet tobacco... put a handful on a paper towel and let it sit for some time until it dries out a bit... i check on it in half hour increments or less depending on how close to the dryness it is for my liking. helps reduce pipe gurgle and i feel it burns better. you will learn what your humidity level in your tobacco you enjoy. Dont give up... keep trying till you find your blend! Pipes are totally worth the work. :) Im newer to pipes too... I have a special love for both pipes and cigars on separate levels. Youve come across a great group of people here too. Stick around and enjoy the banter and advice! Welcome aboard!
    Life is like a blind fiver. You never know what you're gonna get.
  • J.S.J.S. Posts: 754
    I don't like a lot of aromatics myself. You do need to dry it as indicated and that might help. You should still try a few aromatics before you just give up on them.