Home Cigar 101

School the Newbie

Hello everyone. I am a novice, but am gaining speed as I go. Who would have ever thought choosing, storing, and enjoying cigars could be so complex...lol

Anyway, I recently purchased a 100-ct cedar lined humidor - it came with the basic sponge/analog setup and I simply cannot get the rh level set right. Granted, I have not spent a great deal of time trying different methods, but have tried a few. It stays at 85-90rh

I ordered an Oasis XL electronic humidifier - is this going to solve my problem? I have read so many different solutions to the rh issue I am second guessing this purchase..lol

I need to get the humi right soon as I have a few hundred bucks of smokes on the way!!

Comments

• kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    first, buy a digital hygrometer.
    make sure that guy is calibrated using the salt test. ( a quick search on the forum will lead you to that)

second, that green foam stuff is (IMHO) worthless.
    get either heartfelt beads or humi-care gel or Xikar's Crystal Humidifier Jar. all of those are way better than the foam.

third, the Oasis XL is what i like to call overkill...
    at least in a 100ct. I would not start using active humidification in a humidor until it reaches a size of at least a 300ct. send that guy back and get a refund if you can. you may have to eat the cost of shipping but that isnt too bad considering the $100+ you spent to get it and the huge percentage of space that it will take up in the humidor.

im rootin for ya.
  • ncblazerncblazer Posts: 12

Thanks Kuzi

I am assuming from your response that it will, in fact, keep my levels accurate (without the fuss and worry) if I am willing to give up some space. I am also assuming (sorry) that this will be a sufficient answer to my humidity issue in lieu of using alternate methods (beads, gels, etc)

I have really come to enjoy a good cigar(have tried a LOT of different ones in the past couple months) and it is rather addicting.