Home Cigar 101

Had a strange (for me) thing happen while smoking last night....??

HaysHays Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭
So, I'm pretty new to cigars - have tried maybe 10 or so to date - and last night I had an issue I hadn't encountered before. After smoking a while, I cleared the ash from my cigar to find that I had a significant protruding cone of ember. (I'm trying to explain this as clearly as possible). Basically, while I was smoking the outer edges of my cigar burned evenly, but the inside was not. The result was like a half inch or more cone of ember tobacco on the end of my cigar. What was I doing wrong? Smoking too fast? Too slow?
¨The cure for anything is salt water: sweat, tears, or the sea¨ - Isak Dinesen

¨Only two people walk around in this world beardless - boys and women - and I am neither one.¨

Comments

• j0z3rj0z3r Posts: 9,403 ✭✭
    Generally that is a sign of smoking too fast. The tobacco on the inside naturally burns slower due to the fact that it is not exposed as much to the air, but also some of the tobaccos used in the filler don't have the best burn characteristics, ligero would be a good example of a slow burning tobacco. The best approach would be to just slow down your pace, shoot for about a puff every 45-60 seconds, right around there ought to do you fine.
  • LasabarLasabar Posts: 4,472 ✭✭✭
    I usually just knock the coned end off with my arm, I just take the cigar and SLLLLiiiiiiiiide it across my forearm thusly brushing off the slow burning embers....

God, I'm a man
  • MAJORdorMoMAJORdorMo Posts: 356
    When I see a cone in the ash, I always take it that the ash came off at JUST the right time.
  • HaysHays Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭
    I appreciate the input... I've heard that info about smoking pace (in terms of 1/min or so) and the thing is, I wAs pretty much smoking it at that point. That's why I was little confounded, but I didn't have that problem with my smoke today so maybe I'm just getting a better hang of it. Thanks guys!