Home Cigar 101

Bands with too much glue.........

Bob_LukenBob_Luken Posts: 10,004 ✭✭✭✭✭
How do you remove a stubborn band . If it's my first time to try one I like to save the band, but what's a good way to remove i when it's impossiblly glued and it's obviously gonna tear? Just smoked a 'core" and I destroyed the band because there was too much glue. :( What do I do next time? I've heard some of you guys mention using a razor blade. Any advice?

Comments

• Amos_UmwhatAmos_Umwhat Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Smoke it down close
    WARNING:  The above post may contain thoughts or ideas known to the State of Caliphornia to cause seething rage, confusion, distemper, nausea, perspiration, sphincter release, or cranial implosion to persons who implicitly trust only one news source, or find themselves at either the left or right political extreme.  Proceed at your own risk.  

"If you do not read the newspapers you're uninformed.  If you do read the newspapers, you're misinformed." --  Mark Twain
  • SleevePlzSleevePlz Posts: 6,249 ✭✭✭✭
    If you want to save it, then I would recommend using an x-acto knife. You can be precise enough with it to not damage the wrapper leaf. I don't like waiting until the cigar burns down, however. Dealing with a longer stick is easier and safer when removing the band.
    LLA - Lancero Lovers of America
  • YankeeManYankeeMan Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Smoke it for a little bit though, it loosens the glue somewhat. The knife is the way to go, just be careful not to cut the wrapper leaf.

• macs-smokesmacs-smokes Posts: 587
    Touch of soft flame.
  • webmostwebmost Posts: 7,713 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Don't be a band geek. Rip it off.

I love this box of Nestor Reserve 2000 I grabbed off the knock down shelf. Sharp edged rectangular box pressed robustos with delicate wrappers and tight tight glue. I defy you to remove a band intact. Burnt one just last night. Rip 'em bands, I say.