Home Cigar 101

New Member, New Humidor!

First post on the site - been smoking cigars for about a year now. At most I only smoke one every few days. Just acquired this 150ct "display humidor" off eBay since I liked how I could show off the "collection." image Anyone have this humidor? Any good news on it? I just started seasoning it today - I've been salivating just thinking about popping the cigars in there. Unfortunately I live outside Detroit, MI and it's getting rather cold out so I won't be able to smoke cigars as often because it's so darn cold out. :( Anyway - look forward to participating on the site. Already lurked and read a lot of good threads on here. Thanks!

Comments

• MorganGeoMorganGeo Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome! I'm a rather newb here too. Seems like a great group of ppl on here. One benefit of living in the south is that we can smoke outside year round.
  • jd50aejd50ae Posts: 7,900 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I guess us newbs get to welcome you first. And don't worry, someone will most likely know all there is to know about that humidor. Welcome and enjoy.....
  • Welcome, Brian. Great place to be.:) :)
  • 0patience0patience Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭✭
    The only thing I can think of to be concerned about with that humi is to make sure the seals are good on the glass. Often, you may have to "touch up" the seals. Aquarium sealer seems to work the best.
    I'd also get yourself a digital hygrometer or at least double check the one that comes with that humi. They don't often supply the best quality meters with those humis.

I should note that some humis with glass in them may not have sealer and as long as the glass is tight (can't move it by hand or doesn't rattle) it may not need sealer. Depends on how well it was made.

That's about all I know of any problems with them.
    Other than that, they are cool looking and should give you years of satisfaction.

Oh yeah, welcome.
    In Fumo Pax