Home Cigar 101

RH Too High - How Can I Bring It Down?

Hi fellow enthusiasts, While I am new to this forum, I am not new to cigars. I have been smoking for around 8 years or so. And all along, the one thing that I always seem to wrestle with is my humidor. I'm hoping to get some guidance on keeping my humidor at the right RH. I have a table top box that fits about 40 fully loaded - although I've had as many as 25 and as little as a few in there. I started using the Propylene Glycol solution with the silicone beads about two years ago and they were keeping it a pretty steady 68-70%. Lately though, it's gone up to 80% and won't come down. I took the humidifier out altogether but it's still up there. What can I do to lower the RH in the box? Also, I live in central Florida where we use air conditioning indoors 80% of the year. Outside humidity can get as high as 98% and as low as 40% depending on the time of year. Thanks and Merry Christmas to those celebrating it. Pete

Comments

• PAtoNHPAtoNH Posts: 429
    Have you salt tested your hygrometer? How full is your humidor now?
  • Bob_LukenBob_Luken Posts: 10,004 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Oops, double post.
    Welcome to the forum Pete. There are lots of ways to regulate RH but I'm gonna skip everything else and tell you what I think is the EASY way. There's nothing or more easy for a small desktop humidor (in my opinion) than Boveda packets. They get the job done very effectively without having to fiddle with any PG solutions or distilled water They come in several different RH ranges. My personal preference is to use one of the 69% packets in tandem with a second 65% packet. That way I end up with a RH somewhere in the middle.

Boveda Link