Home Cigar 101

New humidor

I know this has probably been discussed in a forum somewhere but I am unable to find the answer and I am a newbie to humidors but have been smoking cigars for a while. The question I have is that I did a salt test on my hygrometer and it is set correctly. The next thing I did was fill the humidifier with Griffo activation solution and put a small container of distilled water in the bottom. It has set over night and the hygrometer is showing a 65% humidity reading in the case. Can I now remove the container of water and start using my humidor or should I was another day and see if the reading will change. Thanks for the help.

Comments

• RainRain Posts: 8,958 ✭✭✭
    I'd take the water out and check it tomorrow. No sense in rushing.I'd also get boveda packs or some beads. If you're using the gel or the rectangular/circular ones....seem to be mold magnets.
  • ehehatehehat Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭
    It's very unlikely that your humidor is properly seasoned in such a short time. When using bowls of distilled water it can easily take 5-7 days. Here's a method thats tried and true from one of our own. Several of us have used this with great results. Its also a couple threads below yours.

http://www.cigar.com/cs/forums/thread/610297.aspx
  • I took the water out and the rh dropped to 60 so I put it back in. I also went to the local book store which is the only place near by that sells cigars and no luck on bead packs so might have to order online
  • Bob_LukenBob_Luken Posts: 10,004 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum :)