Home Cigar 101

Cigars lost their aroma

Hi everyone

This is my second time posting on the forum. I have been enjoying cigars for a few months now, but I just purchased my own humidor a few weeks ago. Lately, I have been noticing that when I open my humidor the cigar smell is almost non-existent, there is just a plain wood aroma. I have a Yukon 40 count humidor with 30 - 35 cigars and a humidity pillow along with a puck. Humidity ranges from 64% - 72% and temperature from 70 - 75 using a digital hygrometer. Right now, I am performing the salt test and waiting for the results, for I read in another forum that the lack of aroma is due to dry cigars. In addition, due to the constant changes in humidity I open the humidor an average of 4 times per day. I would really appreciate if anyone could tell me if this is normal and if the smell will ever come back or if I need to do something different. Any feedback will be greatly appreciated. Thank you all in advance.

Comments

• catfishbluezzcatfishbluezz Posts: 7,000 ✭✭✭
    i assume you are using an analog hygrometer. I would buy a digital one, and I would also use 2 65rh boveda packs for that humidor as well. Not sure why the aroma is leaving, but it very well could be from fluctuation or instability, but I think it is hard to judge unless I know you are using a digital. A humidity pillow and a puck will not humidify them properly IMO, and I would think you may need to season properly if you have not.
  • Hi

I do use a digital hygrometer.
  • catfishbluezzcatfishbluezz Posts: 7,000 ✭✭✭
    Then my guess is you do not have stable humidity
  • Gray4linesGray4lines Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Everything cat said is great advice. Also, if you take your cigars out of the cello, you get that great aroma at first, but it can fade over time. Leaving the cello on, in my opinion, helps keep the aroma stronger (although you cannot smell it when opening the humidor). As a general rule, the rh you mentioned doesn't seem too dry.