Home Cigar 101

Buying a humidor

bwalkbwalk Posts: 6
Hi, I have been smoking cigars for about 6 months or so now and have recently decided to take the plunge and buy a humidor. I have decided that I would need it to be about 50 count, so I figured I would go ahead and buy a 100-150 count humidor (because the multiplying by two and then adding some seems to be the way to go, from what I've read). Anyway, I was just curious of suggestions for what else I should look for in a humidor, like if there were different 'brands' to consider.

The local place here sells humidors by a manufacturer called Maverick, but I wasnt sure if there was maybe a better quality or if all the manufacturers made about the same product and it mainly came down to looks and style.

Also, I have read on the forums here that beads are the way to go and using the humidor that comes with some humidors just as a backup water storage unit, so I think this is the way that I will end up going. But I havnt seen much on what qualities to look for in a good hygrometer, so if anyone has opinions or suggestions on that I would love to hear them.

Thanks!

Comments

• kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    hmmm... multiply by two and add a few...
    that equasion sounds good in theory. here is my advice. buy as big as you can now. youll kick yourself later if you dont. If you can afford a 300+ humi, do it.

as far as brands go... iduno. this is kind of a personal thing. i know what i look for in a brand. I personally like deviders and shelves and all kindsa stuff like that. some people want a big empty box. iduno. If i were to build the perfect humidor for me it would be about a 500ct with power inside to power an oasis and a fan. it would have some sort of cooling device (probably a peltier or some variation) and it would have drawers, two of them would be for beads alone.

but im a nerd like that.
  • Bad AndyBad Andy Posts: 848