Home General Discussion

I'm a brand new cigar smoker. Help me to get started. Thanks in advance!

Hello everybody!  My name is Steve.  I am new to the world of cigars.  I have sampled many, many cigars over the years, on various occasions, but just in passing.  Since deciding to become serious about cigars (a couple of weeks ago), I have smoked the following cigars:

Arganese Maduro Robusto

5 Vegas ‘A’ Apotheosis
Gurkha Class Regent Torpedo
HC Series Maduro Belicoso
Ramon Bueso Genesis The Project Toro
Sosa Robusto

I can truly say that aside from the nasty, cheap, convenience store type, I have never smoked a cigar that I didn't like.  I would truly like some direction and develop my palate so as to learn to truly appreciate a good cigar and eventually become a connoisseur.

Questions, comments, suggestions would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks again everybody and nice to meet you all.

Comments

• EulogyEulogy Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum. I'm pretty new here myself and am also a new cigar enthusiast. I probably couldn't give you much advice. I've been purchasing samplers and seeing what I like in them. You should introduce yourself in the Newbie Welcoming Thread. It's also in the general discussion thread, I'll bump it for you. I hope you stick around here, there are a lot of great people here, I'm sure you'll fit right in.
  • Thank you very much.

• 0patience0patience Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Samplers is probably the best thing for new folks.
    Until you get accustomed to what you like and have a handle on your tastes, it might be wise to shy away from box purchases.
    The reason being, is that your tastes will change over time and while a box of cigars may be worth trading stock, it is probably real estate you might not have in your humi.

After a while, your tastes will settle down and you will get a ball park of what you like and don't like.
    But it may be that your tastes will continue to change, especially as you discover new cigars.