Home Cigar 101

Starting a Frigidor/Wineador...need help.

Went to Target today and bought an 18 bottle Thermo-electric Haier wine cooler, on a whim. I have 2lbs of 65% beads, two OUST fans, two digital hydrometers, 275 cigars spread across seven cedar boxes. What else do I need? Am I missing anything? Where is a good place to start?

I am notorious for doing stuff like this...

Comments

• One2gofstOne2gofst Posts: 583
    You need distilled water, obviously. For a frigidor that size you shouldn't need nearly that many beads or fans.
  • Don't put anything right on the bottom of the wine fridge,it pools moisture
  • DeputyDeputy Posts: 13
    Ok new questions, after running this baby for about 4 hours, the temp levels out at about 58 to 60 degrees. Too cold?
  • HaysHays Posts: 2,337 ✭✭✭
    Deputy:
    Ok new questions, after running this baby for about 4 hours, the temp levels out at about 58 to 60 degrees. Too cold?
    Hmm... I'm not an expert, as I've never run a wine-ador, but that's definitely a lot colder than I'd want my sticks. I know that those temps are normal for wine, and maybe that's why that's where you're at, but personally I like to keep my sticks at a nice, cozy 70 degrees..

The general rule is 70/70, which I'm sure you know - the point of this, of course, is to maintain a similar atmosphere to where the tobacco originated from... As such, I would have to say Yes - 58-60 is too cold.
    ¨The cure for anything is salt water: sweat, tears, or the sea¨ - Isak Dinesen

¨Only two people walk around in this world beardless - boys and women - and I am neither one.¨
    Hays:
    Deputy:

Hmm... I'm not an expert, as I've never run a wine-ador, but that's definitely a lot colder than I'd want my sticks. I know that those temps are normal for wine, and maybe that's why that's where you're at, but personally I like to keep my sticks at a nice, cozy 70 degrees..