Home Ratings & Reviews

Kristoff Maduro

This is my first shot at a review, and I am a relative newbie to cigars, but this is one of my all time favorite smokes, and I would like to share my feelings with you. I do not have a camera so I will just have to explain what I see.

Description:

This particular cigar, comes in a Churchill size, I would wager 50 rg. The wrapper is dark, and oily in appearance. Something distinctive about these smokes is the pig-tail head and a shaggy footed wrapper. I get a "sugary" smell from a quick sniff.

Pre-Light:

I used my guillotine cutter and snipped off the a bit of the cap. After a pre-light draw, I had good airflow but not too tight. A residual salty-sweetness from the wrapper was left on my lips.

After I lit up, I was hit with an immediate and rich chocolate taste, paired with a mocca. No spice at all, just a rich and smoothy texture. As I exhaled, the smoke was velvety and I was getting a hint of "pine" through the nose.

I made it through the first quarter and the ash was firm and holding on about 1.5 inches. I am still getting a lot of the same chocolaty flavors, and the wrapper is still leaving a salty-sweetness on my lips. I find myself licking my lips because I enjoy the taste.

About half way through, my girlfriend comes out into the man cave and comments "That smells good...surprisingly." Refering to the aroma of the smoke. I take this as a very good sign because my girlfriend hates the pastime. But she is correct, the smoke is aromatic and not the least bit harsh.

I am typically not one that can pick out "woodsy" or "earthy" while I smoke, but the flavor of chocolate and coffee and mocca I do taste. I did not have any problems with the burn and it required no touch ups or relights. It took me about 1.45 hours to get through the smoke and I had to force myself not to smoke it any faster.