Home Cigar 101

Trouble with Humidor stabilization...

I'm new to cigar smoking and converted my generous wife's Wine cooler to a wineador. I wasn't having any problems with humidity during the warmer months, but now the winter time has rolled around and I cant seem to get my humidity above 63%. Before I was using the small Boveda 69% packets that a friend had bought for me. After they ran out I purchased the big 69% Boveda pillows and I am having a lot of trouble keeping the humidity at a level that I prefer, which is 68-72%.
I have checked my wineador by turning the lights off in the room and turning on the internal light and checking for any leaks and could not find any. I have also pulled the air filter off of the back and checked to make sure that the fan is functioning and everything seems to be working correctly. My only guess is that the very low humidity out here in the desert has had the drastic effect on my setup, but if there are no visible leaks, the outside should not be effecting anything. Like I said I'm new so these are just suppositions. I am thinking about getting an active humidifier, like the Cigar Oasis XL to compensate, but I'm such a big fan of the Boveda packs I'd like to not have to switch. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Comments

• CharlieHeisCharlieHeis Posts: 8,144 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I prefer mine around 65 and am ok with it dipping to 63% in the ridiculously dry winter conditions of the midwest. But to each their own.
    I don't have a wineador, but someday I hope to. Sorry I am no help there, but if you search wineador here on the forum you'll find some info that may help. Good luck
  • Lee.mcglynnLee.mcglynn Posts: 5,960 ✭✭✭✭