Home General Discussion

Humidor is mysteriously perfect...

I'm new to this - just got a desktop humidor for Christmas, along with 12 nice sticks.
Calibrated with salt to 75%, seasoned for 24 hours, and the hydgrometer is reading a perfect 72%.
Should I season for another 24 hours to be safe, or am I ready to load in some stogies?

Comments

• RainRain Posts: 8,958 ✭✭✭
    How did you season, and how big is the humi? A full humi holds/maintains rh better. 72% is just a tad high IMO, but if you're good with it then rock on. Also, are you using a digital hygrometer or the analog that comes with it?
  • onestrangeoneonestrangeone Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum Bingo, there is a ton of good info here. Leave your cigars in a Ziploc baggie for a minuet and read some of the threads on seasoning a humidor. IMO 24hrs is not enough time to properly season even a small humi, if you used the wipe method "instructions" that likely came with your new humi then I would wait a couple days and see what it does. some of the smaller humidors can be a little finicky sometimes and it can be very frustrating.
  • Humidor is 8" x 10" x 4". I seasoned according to the instructions, with a charged humidifier and a shotglass full of distilled water. I have my sticks in a ziplock for now, with a very slightly dampened paper towel. I think they'll be fine for a couple days. I will keep an eye on the hygrometer. When (if) it goes up, I'll remove the shotglass and see where we stand. Good idea? Lone Waddie, remember, it's not for eatin', it's just for lookin' through.
    BingoPajama: