Home Non Cigar Related

Cooking on da Smoker

Decided to try my hand at smoking some poultry today. I purchased a whole split chicken. Brined in the fridge for about 12 hours. I wasn't sure if I should leave the skin on or smoke it naked so I went with both. The skin on half, I peeled the skin back and put my rub underneath. The naked half I just patted it on like I would pork or beef. For chips, I went with apple today. This is my first time using apple chips and it smells fantastic! Cranked up the smoker to about 200 degrees and set the bird on the bottom grate. I started around 10am and I'll check the internal temp around 1 or 1:30. I'm shoot for 170-180 degrees. Here is a quick peek at the progress. The coloring looks great and I'm excited to see what the finished meat taste like! Skin on the left and naked on the right.image

Comments

• danielzreyesdanielzreyes Posts: 8,769 ✭✭✭✭✭
    jr_p951:
    Decided to try my hand at smoking some poultry today. I purchased a whole split chicken. Brined in the fridge for about 12 hours. I wasn't sure if I should leave the skin on or smoke it naked so I went with both. The skin on half, I peeled the skin back and put my rub underneath. The naked half I just patted it on like I would pork or beef. For chips, I went with apple today. This is my first time using apple chips and it smells fantastic! Cranked up the smoker to about 200 degrees and set the bird on the bottom grate. I started around 10am and I'll check the internal temp around 1 or 1:30. I'm shoot for 170-180 degrees. Here is a quick peek at the progress. The coloring looks great and I'm excited to see what the finished meat taste like! Skin on the left and naked on the right.image
    I see that you're in Muirreta............ I'll be right over. Lol
    "It's plume, bro. Nothing to worry about. Got any Opus?" The suppose to be DZR
  • MESKCMESKC Posts: 213 ✭✭
    apple chips are one of my fav. I use it for pork and chicken. I use a mix apple and pecan for beef.