Home Cigar 101

Cigars still crack and unravel

I'm fairly new to cigars but have enjoyed them for several years. I bought myself a 100 count humi for Christmas [seasoned it according to instructions] and filled it with Rocky Patel ITC 10th aniversary specials and fusions and Perdomos and Bahia Blus and a sample box of Nubs [can't wait for them to set a couple of weeks]. I've put a jar of beads and a humidifier that I add some distilled water to and 2 analog hygrometers that I calibrated to keep the humidity at about 70%. My problem is that about 1 in 5 cigars will crack or come unraveled when I smoke them. What can I do to prevent this or is this normal?  This my 1st post and I enjoy reading the other posts while in the MAN HOLE [as my wife calls it] smoking a good cigar.

Comments

• dutyjedutyje Posts: 2,263
    You're probably cutting the whole cap off the cigar. Don't cut so much off. As far as the humidifier, if you're just putting in plain distilled water, you're going to have problems. Don't do that.
  • duty--I use distilled water on the foam pad and 50-50 solution in the jar. am I doing the right thing?
  • I should also say that the cracks are up about half way on the stick.
  • j0z3rj0z3r Posts: 9,403 ✭✭
    I think your humidity is too high. When a cigar cracks like that, it can often be traced back to a level of humidity that is too high as the excess moisture in the cigar causes the tobacco to swell as it is heated and the wrapper cannot stretch enough to accommodate that. I'd recommend getting a digital hygrometer that can be trusted and using the 50/50 solution on your foam pad, that will help keep the humidity in check.
  • vankleekkwvankleekkw Posts: 404
    Also, let the humidor sit for a couple days to stabilize. Don't get in the trap of checking it every couple hours because that will keep it from getting to a stable spot.