Home Cigar 101

how to handle cigars i ordered online

CrouseferCrousefer Posts: 445 ✭✭
Hey so quick question. This is my first time ordering cigars online, and its been a bit of a hassle. Needless to say because of the holidays and some other issues the cigars have been in the UPS site for about 8 days now and will another day before I receive them. They are a mazo and so just in a platic wrapper. Since they haven't been in a humid climate, how should i go about receiving them. Someone mentioned leaving them in the ups box they came in to stablize for a few days before putting into the humi.

Comments

• jgibvjgibv Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭✭✭
    i always just put them straight into the humi ... let them sit a week or so before you light one up to get the "full experience" as they may have gotten a little dried out during their travels (nothing to worry about they'll recover fine)

* I have a new address as of 3/24/18 *

• Bob_LukenBob_Luken Posts: 10,004 ✭✭✭✭✭
    If they had been in a cold environment I might give them some time to warm up to room temps but other than that I'd put them right in the humi.

I know you're new here. I checked your posts and it seems you are apparently new to humidors. This might seem like a strange question but, You have not posted at all about problems with seasoning your humidor, or maintaining proper humidity in your humidor,......why not? Most new guys don't breeze right through setting up their first humidor,....................Wait! You're a magician? Oh. Magic.
  • jd50aejd50ae Posts: 7,900 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I have never worried about shipment. Its out of my hands and I do believe that the packing method is solid. I also believe the cello wrap keeps them in good shape. I have had a damaged shipment (PO fault) and even then the shipper, Ccom, offered to help.