Home Cigar 101

Use a Herf-a-dor until I decide on a humidor?

Hey guys, absolute cigar newbie here....

I picked up a little 10ct Herf-a-dor to use until I decide on a humidor.  I've just started buying singles here and there, and I'm sticking to the brands I recognize at this point.  Really enjoyed sitting around the fire pit out back with a few friends and a lot of bourbon (who wouldn't?) and I've decided to pick up a sampler pack to expand my tastes a little bit.

My question is, before I spend the money on a nice humidor, is it safe to store the cigars in the Herf-a-dor until I settle on the direction I want to go in?  I know it's more of a travel item, but will it serve the purpose in the interim?  I don't want to ruin the cigars, but I'm not educated enough on humidors to make an informed purchase yet.

Thanks in advance for your input, and thanks for a great forum. 

Cheers.

Comments

• jd50aejd50ae Posts: 7,900 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Use a Tupperware type container for now. If your smoking them pretty quick a herf-a-dor will probably be OK, but remember they will be subject to more temp variation since you are carrying it around. Please get a bigger humidor then you think will be big enough.
  • CharlieHeisCharlieHeis Posts: 8,144 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Yes. No problem there. After you get a humidor you'll need to season it. There's a few threads here that will help you out a lot.
  • onestrangeoneonestrangeone Posts: 2,441 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum, hope you stick around a bit there's a ton of good info here as well as some really good people. the herf-a-dor will work just fine until you run out of space, the next time your at the cigar store (B&M) pick up a small boveda pack 65 or 69 rh and your set! when you fill the herf-a-dor you can use a Tupperware container until you get a humidor and get it set up.
  • CrouseferCrousefer Posts: 445 ✭✭