Home General Discussion
Options

Strong Ammonia Sensed during smoking

Dear all,

I am a newbie, and I smoked a Carlos Torano Noventa 90 last night. During the its 1/3, everything was fine and nice. However, when it came to the 2/3, the body of the cigar reeks of some odor of ammonia, which I have never encountered before on any cigar I had smoked; and the cigar itself started to taste tasteless. Not till the last 1/3, I started to have some tastes back.

I kept my cigars in my humidor well in terms of humidity and temperature. I don't think this was happening due to storage. Can anyone tell me what's actually happening? Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    Darktower007Darktower007 Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭✭
    Hello and welcome to the forum! In a nutshell young tobacco that isn't aged properly. I'm no expert, others are in here but it's referred to the sick period in some cigars. Commonly either rolled too wet of not fermented long enough. Dry boxing them will help.
  • Options
    Bob_LukenBob_Luken Posts: 10,016 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the ccom forum. I bought a bunch (a few boxes) of Noventas myself a few months ago when I learned they were on closeout. I think I smoked just one since then. It was OK, not harsh, but I think mine will be better with more rest. I had also based my purchase on my good experience smoking one that had been gifted to me by another member of the forum. If I remember correctly, I had held onto that cigar for quite a while before smoking it. I don't have any answers to your question but, I'm interested to hear what others have to say. Maybe I'll dig one out and try one again today.
  • Options
    SM0K3YSM0K3Y Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum! I smoked one of the those guys two weeks ago, mine only sat for maybe a week, good cigar, but it had a "twang" throughout, Im defering to the veteran BOTLs advice and am trying to give my stogies at least two or more weeks to rest and settle in, it's hard to wait sometimes though!
  • Options