Home General Discussion

...for a newb, that was a bit much...

I'm a bit of a newb in the cigar world. I joined this site not too long ago. Anyways, a guy I work with gave me a cigar the other day which I decided to light up the other night. Damn was it strong! It was a Oliva series V and for a newb, that was a bit much. I learned my lesson, from now on, I'll do a little research on a stick before I smoke it... (insert your smoking veteran laughs here)

Comments

• matkn293matkn293 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭✭✭

You tend to learn as you go.  Some sticks will affect you differently than others at different times.  Stronger sticks you are better off with a hearty meal before hand rather than on an empty stomach. 

Life is too short to smoke bad cigars!!!

Oh when the Blues, Oh when the Blues, Oh when the Blues go marching in!

• brianetz1brianetz1 Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭
    agreed, i smoked a JDN antano and almost puked......scared of them for a while, now i like them....just remember things change as you smoke. 
  • TheWacoKidTheWacoKid Posts: 16
    I'm a coffee addict and I know some people tend to look down on infused cigars, but before that Oliva, earlier in the evening, I had a Drew Estate Java. It was very nice.  
  • dr_frankenstein56dr_frankenstein56 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭
    I have been smoking for awhile and i still find the V too strong.
  • LiquidChaos66LiquidChaos66 Posts: 3,767 ✭✭✭✭
    I have been smoking cigars for a couple years now... My favorite stick is the Undercrown... The first time I smoked one it knocked me on my butt! lol I think we have all been in your shoes at one point in time. :-) next time eat a steak before trying that one again. lol!
    Life is like a blind fiver. You never know what you're gonna get.
  • MartelMartel Posts: 3,306 ✭✭✭✭
    Ahhhh, the V.  Love it in corona, but it kicks me bottom in other sizes.  Melanio isn't as strong but still has some kick.