Home Cigar 101

Newbie with under 40 sticks smoked...

I looking for a cigar/tobacco forum to call home.
I live in Northeast FL and have only smoked cigars since mid-Sept this year (2015).
I have mostly been buying samplers as I am still learning my own preferences/taste.
I have a bazillion questions, but I will just start out with one today.
Among the different cigar websites that offer 2nds or over-runs, etc I've notice that the most of the offerings are Nicaraguan cigars.  
Why is that?  
I am not ready to fill a humidor up with 2nds yet. I am thinking I like Dominican tobacco but one rarely sees them in the Clearance, 2nds, lists.
Thanks for any coaching you share here.

Comments

• EchambersEchambers Posts: 4,178 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum. This is THE BEST forum to call home unless you are an ass in which case we will run you off. But (and this is the most important thing) we will assume you are NOT an ass.

Seriously, though, this is a great group of guys (and a gal or two). Most are pretty smart with lots of experience and collectively we can answer most of your questions.

Welcome!
    -- "There's something that doesn't make sense. Let's go poke it with a stick."
  • Usaf06Usaf06 Posts: 10,932 ✭✭✭✭✭
    welcome, there is a noob welcome thread. Stop in and introduce yourself. 
    "I drink a great deal. I sleep a little, and I smoke cigar after cigar. That is why I am in two-hundred-percent form."
    -- Winston Churchill

"LET'S GO FRANCIS"     Peter

• peter4jcpeter4jc Posts: 15,320 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hey, I'm an ass and you guys never ran me off!

Welcome CWALDO!  How'd you find us, via the Ccom website?  You'll find that Eric is right - this is the absolute best dam place to hang around; even if it weren't for all the cigar wisdom, the atmosphere would keep me coming back.  There are ton of excellent people that call this forum home!