Home Cigar 101

Taking a Draw That Allows You to Taste...Help Please?

Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to the cigar life, but not smoking necessarily. I smoked cigarettes on occasion (maybe a dozen per year), smoked a ton of the green stuff in college, and would smoke a cigar on the rare occasion that I was offered one. About a month ago, one of my best friends showed me his humidor and had me smoke an AB Prensado. HDe sent me home with a dozen issues of Cigar Afficianado and a fantastic sampler of some really great sticks. Before I knew it, I was ordering a humidor and visiting my local cigar shop almost daily. dr

Like many other beginners, I would imagine, I'm not tasting all of the fantastic flavors that I read in descriptions aside from some pretty obvious overall flavors. I'm pretty sure that my problem is how I'm drawing on the cigar. I definitely understand how to draw, and from the research that I've done, I understand that the idea is to draw very slowly to allow the smoke to be as cool in temperature as possible. 

When end I try to take a slow draw, I end up with barely any smoke in my mouth, although I seem to get a bit of a good taste. When I try to draw a moderate amount of smoke, I end up tasting almost nothing but the harsh smokey taste. Im kind of just confused in general...are you supposed to be able to taste the flavors in a mouth full of smoke? 

So Im trying to find the happy medium here...a draw that fills my mouth with smoke but is cool enough to allow me to taste everything...does that make sense?

Comments

• jarublajarubla Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭✭✭
    How are you cutting your stick?

Also, as far as libations go, I try to drink just water with my cigars. May not be directly related, but it will not muddle the flavors as much. What you eat and drink can affect palate.

Another comment that is wandering into the weeds; try and write down your thoughts about what you are tasting. Can help to isolate some of the flavors you are seeking