Home General Discussion
Options

So I guess I'm all in.........(Unboxing)

2»

Comments

• Options
    prosspross Posts: 874 ✭✭✭
    Nice! Nothing like the smell of new Spanish Cedar.
  • Options
    jthanatosjthanatos Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭
    Great looking humi. Need help filling?
  • Options
    ehehatehehat Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭
    blurr:
    Nice. Dustin those drawers don't open, only the bottom 2 and they are just accessory drawers. The other 4 are just buttons to look fancy. Somewhere around here I have pics of how I cracked open those humidifiers and cut the foam out, replaced it with beads (or Litter Pearls) and put the metal back on and snap it back together. thats a great way to reuse those containers. I've been using mine for 4 years now and they work great, just 2 of those with Conservagel beads keeps my humi rock-solid at 67rh, but I also have it full of cigars so that helps stabilize it after opening.
    A few things to keep in mind. If you use beads or litter in those humidifier cases, you need to keep them lying flat. Don't attach them upside down with the magnet on the lid (you will get dust all over your cigars). I put one flat on the lower level and one flat on the upper shelf. It takes up some room but it works flawlessly.
    I also have been having great success lately with recharging by evaporative means. What I mean by this is when you start to notice your rh dropping by a few points, place a jar of distilled water somewhere in the humidor. Leave it for a few days and keep checking on it. The beads or litter will absorb the moisture out of the air (as opposed to pouring distilled directly on the beads). Its just a matter of preference, but this has been working well for me. There is nothing wrong with spraying or misting your beads, just another option you can consider.
    Enjoy that beauty, I have the same one and love it.