First humidor - Help and Advice Welcome

CalvinAndHoboCalvinAndHobo Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭✭✭
Alright, I'm super excited. Here we go. 

Comments

• jd50aejd50ae Posts: 7,900 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Take it out of the box.
  • CalvinAndHoboCalvinAndHobo Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 2018

Here's the inside. those thing in the middle of the shelves facing sideways (for instance, right above the circular hygrometer, and in between the circular and lower rectangular hygrometers.) are spanish cedar pen blanks, 10 for $10 on amazon. great way to separate singles. 

Next I wiped it down with one of those seasoning wipes. It's a 600 count, so I bought 4 black ice 8oz beads. I'm going to put my bovedas right on top of them. 

distilled water in the bowls. Now I wait and wipe it down again tomorrow. 
    Alright. This is my first time seasoning a humidor. I'm pretty sure I'm doing everything correctly based on searching old threads but if anyone spots anything wrong please let me know. I just have one question, I used the dollar bill test on the door and I didn't feel like there was enough resistance when I pulled it out. Should I get weather stripping for the door? Or should I just use scotch tape? 
  • GuitardedGuitarded Posts: 4,643 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Beautiful humidor!
    1. Patience
    2. Weatherstripping for the door seal, but check it after seasoning. The wood will swell a bit, and you may not need it.
    3. Bovedas on the shelves, not on top of the black ice. They will "fight" each other to regulate the rh.
    4. Don't be **** about the rh, calibrate the hygrometers, and one high and one near the bottom are more than enough.
    5. Find a place in your home where the temp is relatively stable, and under 70. It is a shame to hide a beautiful humidor in a closet, but that may be the best place to keep temperature consistent.
    6.More patience!
    Enjoy!

Friends don't let good friends smoke cheap cigars.
    @Guitarded