Home Cigar 101

Currently seasoning humidor

Thunder_13Thunder_13 Posts: 20
Hi all,

I am new to seasoning a humidor so I been following my cousin directions so far he has a couple humidors and been aiming for a few years now. First wipe down (distilled water & new sponge) then put in a shot glass of water and wet small filter, put both in along with 69% moisture pads (I could only get 75% at the time but was told it should be ok), then leave closed for 7 days that was on the 9th of Oct. When I took out the box it was reading 70% after doing everything it jumped to 90% after a day it's been holding at 80% to 82% I am reading off the meter on front which has moved so assume it's working (I have a whitesell glass top 50 count). 

Okay so my question after all that lol is after 7 days how will I get it down to 70%? Thanks for the help in advance. 

Also I live in Chicago if that matter weather wise and I trust him but just a little nervous still.

Comments

• jd50aejd50ae Posts: 7,900 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Rain.....Where are you.
  • peter4jcpeter4jc Posts: 15,322 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2018
    What are you using to measure the humidity %?

What's the relative humidity in your humidor's environment?

If the room it's in is less, leave it open overnight.

Doing my best Bob_Luken impression by being courteous and helpful.
    "I could've had a Mi Querida!"   Nick Bardis
  • Thunder_13Thunder_13 Posts: 20
    I live Chicago we have good amount humidity in summer month with that said this time of year kind of low and to me my house seem dry this time of year. I am.using the % meter that came with the unit it's on the front outside it's a whitesell glass top.
  • peter4jcpeter4jc Posts: 15,322 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Get yourself a good digital hygrometer.
    "I could've had a Mi Querida!"   Nick Bardis
  • RhamlinRhamlin Posts: 8,908 ✭✭✭✭✭