Home Cigar 101

New to cigars

Hey y’all I’m new to the cigar world any tips for a better experience and any knowledge you would like to share
Tagged:

Comments

• 90+_Irishman90+_Irishman Posts: 12,408 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited October 2018
    Hey TayTay, welcome to the world of cigars and Ccom forum, there’s a lot of great info here. 

My first recommendation is to read the post at the top of this section called Things Newbies Should Know, that will give you a ton of great info. 

The second is to make aure your cigars are stored stored properly and at an acceptable humidity and temperature range. 

Lastly the most most common mistake I see frequently is smoking a good cigar too fast. This makes it hot and bitter and loses a lot of the flavors that make a cigar great. Easiest way to know if your smoking pace is right is to see what the cherry/ember looks when you Ash. If it’s a cone then you are smoking too fast as the outer leaves are burning faster than the middle can keep up with. If you Ash and it looks concave like the center is a crater then you’re going to slow. You want the cherry to be as flat as possible. 

Long ashes and good smokes, welcome again. 
    Post edited by 90+_Irishman on
    "When walking in open territory bother no one. If someone bothers you, ask them to stop. If they do not stop, destroy them."
  • CharlieHeisCharlieHeis Posts: 8,144 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum. Not sure if Brett said this, I'm not going to read all that,  but look around this forum. There's a lot of good info here. 
  • Bob_LukenBob_Luken Posts: 10,004 ✭✭✭✭✭
    V-herf,....... late at night. We'll talk you through it. 

V-herf: Video conference call on google hangouts where we gather to smoke cigars together in real time. Find the link on the V-herf thread.
    https://forum.cigar.com/discussion/713386/vherf/p1

(Herf is a slang term for a group smoking cigars)