Home Cigar 101

Hey everyone. Its been awhile. I need some advice.

Aland1984Aland1984 Posts: 13
Hello everyone. I’ve used the forums a few times. I’ve actually had two IDs but was out of commission for awhile and had to create a new ID. I’ve made some cool trades and bombs. Id like to get back into the game and be more attentive it’s been awhile.

Here’s the issue I’m having now. I used to live in the Carolinas and I’m used to a humid environment. I have a 120 ct humi and I’ve tried it all man. Bead, gel, cigar oasis.... I had better luck in a humid environment, but now I’m in Northern Colorado and I’ve been using 70% beads for a few years now. I have a love/hate feeling for them. I have a lot of trouble with them keeping humidity. I know it’s dry here, but I’m adding [distilled] water to these things more often than I think I should. And I’m using a lot of beads. I have one large, two medium and two small tubes. I water them correctly and they dry up faster than I think they should. I see, after the humidor is closed long enough, 70% and within a week or two it gets in the low 60’s. My humidor is fine. No leaks from the lid. I’ve inspected it all around and it appears fine. I’m thinking about going back to boveda packs. Seems like less hassle and less pixie dust. Anyone have any ideas? Maybe I’m being paranoid and this is normal.

Comments

• IndustMechIndustMech Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Buy a cooler large enough to hold your humidor.  Put several bovida packs in the cooler, next to the humidor.
    I saw this very set up, yesterday. (Don't remember if there were bovida out side the humidor)

I know, You're a big dog and I'm on the list.
    Let's eat, GrandMa.  /  Let's eat GrandMa.  --  Punctuation saves lives

It'll be fine once the swelling goes down.

• PatrickbrickPatrickbrick Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭✭✭
    The bovidas are inside the humidor. 
    "We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give".  Winston Churchill.
    MOW badge received.