Home Cigar 101

Building a humidor..

illinoisgolf99illinoisgolf99 Posts: 1,507
Hey everyone so I am a novice woodworker but my dad is pretty good at it (he has a side business so I'm assuming he is) and I would really like some advice on the materials, tools, and instructions needed to build a humidor. I was thinking about starting small but eventually I want to build a rather large cabinet humi, 5000 ct. I'm thinking

Comments

• xmacroxmacro Posts: 3,402
    WaxingMoon is the guy to see/talk to. Other than that, a humidor's purpose is to contain humidity, which requires tight joints and good wood that can withstand the (sometimes) extreme difference between the humidity inside and the humidity outside. Spanish cedar is most often used due to its mild smell, but there are a few species of mahogany that possess similar qualities (Davidoff makes a few humidors using only mahogany).
  • illinoisgolf99:
    Hey everyone so I am a novice woodworker but my dad is pretty good at it (he has a side business so I'm assuming he is) and I would really like some advice on the materials, tools, and instructions needed to build a humidor. I was thinking about starting small but eventually I want to build a rather large cabinet humi, 5000 ct. I'm thinking
    I didnt build from scratch...but I converted an old cabient into a humi...let me know if you want some ideas. it was pretty easy and fun at the same time. i have near 500 or so in there right now but can hold around 700 if I moved some stuff around.
  • illinoisgolf99illinoisgolf99 Posts: 1,507
    txjayhawk:
    illinoisgolf99:

I didnt build from scratch...but I converted an old cabient into a humi...let me know if you want some ideas. it was pretty easy and fun at the same time. i have near 500 or so in there right now but can hold around 700 if I moved some stuff around.

That sounds awesome, I would really appreciate some ideas on how you did that.. I want to have a cabinet someday so any info would be of great help!