Home Ratings & Reviews

Evaluating Aged Cigars

VisionVision Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited October 2020 in Ratings & Reviews

As most of you know most of my cigars are from 2013 or earlier. Over the past few months I have been smoking more and more of them, some with great success and some absolute duds. Here I will post a brief summary of the cigar I smoked. It will only entail if it held up over time or has gone flat on a 1-5 scale. 5 will equal still holding its flavor and 1 absolutely flat. I will add if the cigar has kept/lost is profile (IE Nicaraguan spice/pepper bomb, “Connecticut twang”, Cameroon sweetness) on the same 1-5 scale and add a little about the cigars blend to give an idea of what blends tend to hold up or not. This is not a review of the cigar. I’m simply trying to help give people an idea of what tends to hold up or flatten out after 7+ years. I’m no expert by any means but I hope I can help inform on what cigars/blends keep their flavor and profile. Any questions I can answer I would love to try.

All cigars kept at 65rh using Boveda with temperature ranging from 64-70F in VinoTemp Wineador. Air circulated often and shelves rotated a few times a year.

Post edited by Vision on

Comments

• peter4jcpeter4jc Posts: 15,316 ✭✭✭✭✭

Curmudgeon mode on; if it's discontinued, who cares?

Can you actually eliminate the variable of your palate changing from seven or eight years ago?

"I could've had a Mi Querida!"   Nick Bardis
  • EgoBoundaryEgoBoundary Posts: 2,159 ✭✭✭✭✭

I think it’s cool to see which tobaccos seem to last ... I am sure we will see a pattern , even if it’s only because they come from the same humidor ( insert any emijo here).

• VisionVision Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭✭✭

@peter4jc said:
    Curmudgeon mode on; if it's discontinued, who cares?

Can you actually eliminate the variable of your palate changing from seven or eight years ago?