Home Ratings & Reviews

Sol Cubano Cuban Cabinet

This is my first attempt at a review, so bear with me...

Sol Cubano Cuban Cabinet Robusto, rested 3 weeks after delivery. Opens with strong cream with an ephemeral backdrop of earthiness and a hint of that rich tobacco-y taste that really can't be described as anything else.

I only recently began to retro-nasal cigars; oddly enough, it's a mistake to do so with this one. Nose aroma is completely pepper and spice; these don't present themselves in the mouth at all if you just puff - I abandoned retro-nasaling for this stick after the first inch because of this.

Halfway into the first third, the cream dissappears, and the earthiness becomes more prominent. A mild black-pepper note appears at this point, but remains int he background. In the second third, a flavor of  damp, slightly musty wood develops quickly and plateaus at a similar intensity to the general earthiness throughout the rest of that third.

The final third sees all of these flavors fade relatively quickly to be briefly replaced by a pleasant mildly-syrupy nuttiness. The last half of the last third see the development of a tar flavor that necessitates an end (what I often think of as the "cigar's over" flavor). Nevertheless, for the price, an excellent stick. Needs a bit of a rest, though. If you tend to heavily retro-nasal, you may feel this is a one-dimension stick upon trying it.

Comments

• smbrinksmbrink Posts: 406
    Wow I just finished smoking one of these like 5 min. ago and i completely agree. Im not at the point where I can really distinguish different flavors, but I can say that if tasted really good. and The flavor did change about every third. Ill also add that I had to do some minor corrective lights, but ill blame the wind for that. The construction was flawless, and the draw was also great with just a tad of resistance.
  • rwheelwrightrwheelwright Posts: 3,296