Home General Discussion
Options

Whatcha smokin tonight?

Comments

• Options
    TumblerTumbler Posts: 338 ✭✭
    urbino:
    aaronjm:
    So the other night I lit up a Don Pepin Garcia Cuban Classic (black label) Robusto. I was expecting a really good experience out of this one seeing that it's gotten rave reviews. I am new to the hobby of cigars and am still developing my own taste. But when I lit that thing up, it smelled like a drugstore cigar. And tasted like one too. Dry and bitter. I have put my humidor (now tupperdor) through the ringer with the RH levels dipping into the upper 50s for about a month and a half. But they've been keeping at 73 for about 3 weeks now. I don't think it was dried out, seeing that the wrapper was perfect and it had a little give when I squeezed it. What do y'all think could account for the flavor?
    Six weeks in the upper 50s, followed by 3 weeks in the 70s could alter the character of a cigar, I think. Try one straight from a local B&M, if possible, and see if it tastes different. Regardless, the main thing you want to do is get your storage stabilized at a reasonable humidity.

BTW, welcome to the forum.

Sound advice from Urbie. I had trouble gettin my humi stable when I broke it in - and that made my smokes a bit more bitter and some were bursting at the seams... Mine was in the other direction - it was raining inside. I eventually went with the Heartfelt beads. The other thing, which you probably know, is slow down.
  • Options
    j0z3rj0z3r Posts: 9,403 ✭✭
    urbino:
    I'll be damned. It's actually called the Don Carlos Robusto. I thought they were all numbered.

The #3 is what I usually smoke, and love.
    Yeah, I kinda figured you knew the difference between the #3 and a robusto, since I know you are a fan of the #3. Damn good cigar too.
  • Options
    urbinourbino Posts: 4,517