Home Pipes
Options

Filters or not

sms419sms419 Posts: 21
Complete noob to pipe smoking. Looking to get into it. been reading a lot on the subject. Been trying to figure out the filter issues. Which pipes use them and dont? Also do some pipes rquire them or can you just use them or not?

Comments

• Options
    I have a couple cob pipes that are filtered. I like the way Burley's and English tobaccos taste out of a cob. However, I leave the filter in my "Burley" cob but take it out of the "English" cob. I have one filtered briar pipe - a Brigham 3-dot. Brigham's have a maple filter insert. I smoke VaPer's out of my Brigham and I don't notice any degradation in flavor of the tobacco. The filter is a little extra work to fuss with but I like it. The Brigham was a gift, and I love it, but I don't know that I"d buy another filtered briar pipe. I have a couple Boswell pipes, all unfiltered, I use both for straight Virginia's. If your tobacco is dry enough when you pack it, you most likely won't have the gurgling that the filter removes. I think that's 99% of why filters are in pipes, to take away the gurgle. Just my .02.
  • Options
    MarkerMarker Posts: 2,524
    I take them out. Personal preference and I like a more open draw.
  • Options
    Thanks for the insight.
  • Options
    J.S.J.S. Posts: 754
    I posted some basic information about filters in another place on here but for what it is worth, I would not use a filter pipe if you are not going to inhale.

Here is the basic information on filters: