Home Ratings & Reviews
Options

CAO Gold Robusto

Got a CAO Gold Robusto (maybe it was a Dbl Rob.) I can't remember now. Gentleman (I say gentleman, but in reality he is younger than me) directed another BOTL towards above said CAO as being Mild-Medium with a ton of smoke. This interested me as I also like Mild-Medium smokes for the most part.

Off I go, with my newfound CAO. First CAO I have ever tried as well. Well, I did get two, one in the box, one in the hand.

Open her up (I assume it was a her, honestly I don't really know), clip the end off with my trustworthy Xikar, and go to lighting. Slow, turning her over and over in my hand. But alas, I get ahead of myself.

Good firm feel in my fingers, nice smell. Don't get me to trying to describe all the nuances of hay, hazelnut, etc... I'm still a noob. Back to the good part.

Slow, turning her over and over in my hand, warming up the foot, blow on the end just a bit, back to turning her over and over letting the soft flame lick at her foot. (I know, sounds corny. Sorry, been awake for 24, worked nightshift last night.)

Finally the moment of truth. To see if this CAO is truly a Mild smokestack. Puff, taste, blow out. Something wasn't right. Let's try again. Puff, taste, blow out.

I think I got about 1" into it before I had to toss it. Remember I mentioned her feet. Well it had a sour foot taste (don't ask me how I know what sour feet taste like, I just do.)

Anyone have any ideas? Still have the second one in the box will leave it alone for a bit to see if it was just a fluke... or...

Comments

• Options
    ctschirgictschirgi Posts: 63 ✭✭