Home Cigar 101

WTF?! Im converting to kitty litter.

BamablowsBamablows Posts: 338
I am furious. I still dont know if any of my sticks are ruined and probably wont know until i smoke one of them. I get home today, noticed my RH on my humi had dropped from its usual 61-62 down to about 59. I figure its been about a month since i serviced the Gel beads i have (I know you guys are against all of that ) but it worked for me and i figured what the hell, im just a beginner anyways. Anyways, on to the point.. I looked at the gel beads, and they have mold growing on them. I am using Monster Magma gel beads, with Monster Venom. Both are advertised to prevent growth of mold AND THERE IS FREAKING MOLD GROWING ON THEM!!!!!
Are my sticks ruined?
Should i trash the humi and start over ?
Should i disinfect it?
Why did this happen?
What did i do wrong?

Comments

• thedjfish@comcast.netthedjfish@comcast.net Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭
    how bigs the humi?
    is there mold on anything else?cigars, humi wood, etc.
    by chance did you find any spot in the humi that was extremely damp or moist?
    and calm down
  • BamablowsBamablows Posts: 338
    Couldn't find any mold in the humi anywhere other than on the beads. Humi is a 150 ct. And I didn't find any really moist spots. The gel beads are in a plastic cannister about the size of a beanie weenie can (thats the only relation I can think of ). And i just moisten them with monster venom about once a month and it has been keeping my RH at about 61-62 steady for the past 3 or 4 months.
  • brianetz1brianetz1 Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭
    there is mold on the beads and your humi is in the 61-62 range? something seems a little odd with that right?
  • KingoftheCoveKingoftheCove Posts: 937 ✭✭✭
    1) move your cigars to ziplock bags or tupperware containers, be sure to inspect them first, and be sure to fill whatever containers you use to a full as possible, that way the RH will maintain itself for a few days at least.