Home Cigar 101

Toasting a Cigar?

CigarFanaticCigarFanatic Posts: 225 ✭✭✭
I am a newbie on the forums but been smoking for 2 years now and came across "toasting"

Why do you toast a cigar before you light it and how do you do it?
How do make this text turn upside down?

Comments

• jarublajarubla Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Welcome to the forum!

Toasting is a slow lighting method--when I started out, I had the same question, and YouTube has some very helpful tips. Check em out!
    “There’ll be two dates on your tombstone and all your friends will read ’em but all that’s gonna matter is that little dash between ’em.” -Kevin Welch
  • Bob_LukenBob_Luken Posts: 10,004 ✭✭✭✭✭
    The main point is you want to encourage your cigar to burn, not force it. The idea is to avoid a harsher, scorched flavor.
  • SleevePlzSleevePlz Posts: 6,249 ✭✭✭✭
    What these guys said. I always explain it as letting the heat from the flame light the cigar. Don't let the flame itself touch the cigar. It will take longer and you'll be refilling your lighters more often, but the initial flavors will be better.
    LLA - Lancero Lovers of America
  • peter4jcpeter4jc Posts: 15,316 ✭✭✭✭✭
    ...and it helps ensure an even burn since toasting will help you light the foot more uniformly.
    "I could've had a Mi Querida!"   Nick Bardis
  • EchambersEchambers Posts: 4,178 ✭✭✭✭✭

peter4jc said:
    ...and it helps ensure an even burn since toasting will help you light the foot more uniformly.
    Peter is right on here. The science behind this is similar to the reason we could over charcoal not fresh wood (generally speaking): in the charcoal burns more uniformly. When you toast the foot and lighter light the cigar you get a much more even burn to start. Then of the cigar is rolled properly the good burn should remain assuming you are smokibe properly 
    -- "There's something that doesn't make sense. Let's go poke it with a stick."
  • CigarFanaticCigarFanatic Posts: 225 ✭✭✭