Home Non Cigar Related

Smoker recipes

Chuck_NChuck_N Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭
I received a Bradley smoker for Xmas this year and have used it a couple times.
I was wondering  if anyone here smokes, and has recipes/rubs they would like to share.

Comments

• avengethisavengethis Posts: 5,686 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I smoke probably 2-3 times a month so I have some experience.  Is there something in particular you are looking at doing that you want some ideas on?  Tomorrow I am doing up a brisket so I can feed my family, parents and relatives during the Packer game.
    Team O'Donnell FTW!

"I've got a great cigar collection - it's actually not a collection, because that would imply I wasn't going to smoke ever last one of 'em." - Ron White
  • Chuck_NChuck_N Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭
    edited January 2016
    A brisket recipe would be awesome. I did ribs yesterday and they turned out just ok. Did a pork roast a week ago and it was terrific. 
    I'm just looking for smoker ideas in general.

Sorry about your Packers btw.
    Yeah we made the playoffs but I am expecting to go down to the Redskins.

I have a few really good store bought rubs for pork actually.  I know one is the Killer Hogs "The BBQ Rub" this is fabulous on a pork butt.  I have a couple others I'll have to look up for ribs.  I have some that I made up myself that are good but honestly I was just tossing stuff together and couldn't even tell you what is in them right now.

I have 2 for brisket that I really like.  1 is very simple 50/50 salt to pepper.  This is actually probably one of the best brisket I have ever had.  Another one is a little more complex,  I'll pm you the exact recipe on it.  Remember with brisket its low and slow to break down all that connective tissue and fat in the meat.  My normal brisket takes about 16-20 hours on the smoker at 220 degrees.  If you have a choice for type of wood oak with a little pecan is superb for brisket as well.  Mesquite and hickory can be nice but that oak/pecan mix is awesome.