Home Cigar 101

A little humidor help...newbie here

Khynes124Khynes124 Posts: 15
Hello All, 

About 3 weeks ago I purchased a humidor. 100 ct, desktop humi, did a wipe inside, let it sit, stabilize (I thought) and that was that. Got on here and quickly realized I needed a digital hygrometer, so I purchased on on Amazon. I calibrated by wrapping in wet cloth, setting to 98% and put it into my humidor. I'm currently reading 77% the past two days, and I would like my humidor to be running around 69-70. My B&M gave me a 73 Boveda pack and that's been in there since I seasoned ( along with my sponge of distilled water) So my questions are:

1. How can I lower my humidity and keep it around 69-70?
2. Can I trust my hygrometer? Is it accurately calibrated? Help.
3. Should I leave my cigars ( 3 cigars) in the humi? Move to ziplock with Boveda? 

Would very much appreciate any and all help getting things back on track...

-Kenny

Comments

• miller65rodmiller65rod Posts: 3,630 ✭✭✭✭✭
     LoKhynes124 said:
    1. Lower the Boveda pack RH
    2. No recalibrate with a salt test or a Boveda calibration kit
    3. No move them to a tupperdoor until you get the humi right

Free Cuba
    "I ain't got no Opus's"
    LLA
    - Lancero Lovers of America
    2016 Gang War (South)
    May I assss u a ?

• Bob_LukenBob_Luken Posts: 10,004 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Is this a joke? Wait, wait. Let me get the formalities out of the way.

Welcome to the forum Kenny @Khynes124

WTF? Is one of you regulars just trolling making up a list of all the wrong stuff you can think of for a newbie to post and then you're just gonna sit back and snicker as the rest of us earnestly try to help? That's mean! 
  • Khynes124Khynes124 Posts: 15
    Bob_Luken said:

WTF? Is one of you regulars just trolling making up a list of all the wrong stuff you can think of for a newbie to post and then you're just gonna sit back and snicker as the rest of us earnestly try to help? That's mean!