Home Cigar 101
Options

Developing Your Palate

1234568»

Comments

• Options
    timtomtimtom Posts: 40
    Does it take time to distinguish one taste from another? I only get a tobacco taste. That's it nothing more. I have been smoking one or two a month for a few months now.
  • Options
    kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    Absolutely. It's something you learn over time.
  • Options
    MorganGeoMorganGeo Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭✭✭
    timtom:
    Does it take time to distinguish one taste from another? I only get a tobacco taste. That's it nothing more. I have been smoking one or two a month for a few months now.
    im a believer in this. I've been smoking for two years now and all last year I got the same thing you did. It wasn't until I started learning how to retrohaler that I really found flavora I didn't notice before. For me I feel that a 1 to 2 puffs a minute is ideal. Of course, every cigar is different
  • Options
    kuzi16kuzi16 Posts: 14,633 ✭✭✭✭
    what really helped me develop my palate was actively tasting everything that i ate and actively smelling everything i smelled.
    ...not just in cigars.

dont lead a passive flavor/smell life.

If you are eating or drinking something, anything, make sure to take the time to understand what you are tasting. when you walk into a leather shop, take a deep smell of it. understand it.

i mean, how do you expect to recognize mushrooms, or stone fruit, or leather, or coffee, or any other flavor in a cigar if you have no reference point?

• Options
    Lee.mcglynnLee.mcglynn Posts: 5,960 ✭✭✭✭
    For me I get more medleys then anything...being a chef I try to find each flavor but really it's the all over "meal" I find intriguing. Take for instance the opus x... I find a lot of raisins and dried fruit but still couldn't tell you what fruit besides the raisins
    Money can't buy taste
  • Options
    rsherman24rsherman24 Posts: 6,779 ✭✭✭✭✭
    timtom: