Home Pipes

First Pipe

Comments

• PuertoRicoShawnPuertoRicoShawn Posts: 347 ✭✭✭✭

This a good starter then?
    Missouri Meerschaum - Country Gentleman Corn Cob Tobacco Pipe - Straight Bit https://a.co/d/auQDP2O

When you’re finished changing, you’re finished. —Ben Franklin

• NorCalR1NorCalR1 Posts: 4,197 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Stubble said:

@PuertoRicoShawn said:
    Is the bent vs straight merely cosmetic?

Yes. Longer the shank, the more time the smoke has to cool, unless you're puffing hard.

@PuertoRicoShawn said:
    Do all the Cob pipes smoke the same?

No.

@PuertoRicoShawn said:
    Is there a go to starter tobacco?

I would start with a ribbon cut, then branch out. Stay away from real moist aromatic blends at first.

ETA: These are my humble thoughts....I'm still learning.

@PuertoRicoShawn - @Stubble is being extremely humble he is the one of the masters of pipe smoking on this forum. A true Jedi when it comes to this rabbit hole..

If you want to bomb me send it to Tony @0patience :D
    If you are a newbie I got Dem nachos....

• StubbleStubble Posts: 8,177 ✭✭✭✭✭

@PuertoRicoShawn said:
    This a good starter then?
    Missouri Meerschaum - Country Gentleman Corn Cob Tobacco Pipe - Straight Bit https://a.co/d/auQDP2O

That will give you a large bowl, could be harder to clench. But yes IMHO, a good starter.

@NorCalR1 said:

@Stubble said:

@PuertoRicoShawn said:
    Is the bent vs straight merely cosmetic?

Yes. Longer the shank, the more time the smoke has to cool, unless you're puffing hard.

@PuertoRicoShawn said:
    Do all the Cob pipes smoke the same?

No.

@PuertoRicoShawn said:
    Is there a go to starter tobacco?

I would start with a ribbon cut, then branch out. Stay away from real moist aromatic blends at first.

ETA: These are my humble thoughts....I'm still learning.

@PuertoRicoShawn - @Stubble is being extremely humble he is the one of the masters of pipe smoking on this forum. A true Jedi when it comes to this rabbit hole..

Not...