Home Cigar 101

the Noob Toob

webmostwebmost Posts: 7,713 ✭✭✭✭✭
BsOTL

What do you guy think about a thread dedicated to answering all the most dumb-assed questions a raw noob could ask? If I and other neophytes supplied the questions, would you be willing to supply the answers?

Being a complete noob myself, I sure have a long list of dumb-ass questions. So far, I have had to answer those questions one by one through an embarrassing series of fumbles. I just wish I could find all the answers in one place. Like what's maduro? What's claro? What's a nub? What's a churchhill? What's sumatra wrap? What's connecticut? Do they really grow tobacco that far north? When you see 6" x 55, that's 55 whats? When you're looking for an hour's smoke, what size is that? How do you keep a cigar from suddenly tasting like an ashtray about two thirds down so you have to throw it out? How long should your ember be? Whatever happened to big old safety kitchen matches? What's a plug cutter? How come my guillotine looking cutter leaves a raggedy edge?

I've got an endless supply of bonehead beginner questions. If I asked one a day in this thread, could we compile a list of answers?

I mean, these things may be second nature to all of you, but to a raw noob like me, I am flat clueless.

I should add that I have exactly zero interest in the hobby of cigar collecting, myself. I observe that the BsOTL here appear to be humidor obsessed. Not me not yet. I am only talking about the process of cigar smoking. That's it. How to get the most out of a stick. There's plenty of time to get to the whole humidor coolidor digital hygrometer beads gel so on and so forth once I decode how to even enjoy a smoke or not. Meanwhile, we have an excellent cigar store right here in the state of Dull-Aware, and I'd just as soon let them handle the humidor chores.

Whattaya think?