Home Cigar 101

Catfish: How to season or reaseason a humidor using Kitty Litter or Beads

catfishbluezzcatfishbluezz Posts: 7,000 ✭✭✭
I have had several people with humidity issues and new humi's contact me regarding seasoning and reseasoning humidors. I figured starting a thread would make this a bit easier for anyone interested, and I won't have to explain myself over and over. I came up with this method while using multiple humi's after having stability issues. I will post pictures and season an old humi for this project. For now it is drying out. I do not claim to be the end all be all of cigar knowledge, but this has worked for me and several other people with great success. The only time it did not, gel was used, which is why I recommend beads or Kitty Litter.

FYI...I am not here to debate whose method is better, which one works best, which one you should use and I do not recommend this for cooler's or wineadors. I am not an expert, just a guys whose helped a few people.

Rule number 1: DO NOT WIPE! Every person I've ever talked to that had fluctuation issues, employed this method. It can warp the wood, it is not consistent, and might lead to mold. If you wiped, let it dry out....

Rule number 2: Be patient and don't put your damn smokes in there!!!!

What you need:

1. Kitty litter or beads, I use Exquisicat and have used Heartfelt beads in the past with this method. I do not recommend using gel. More is better...start at one lb, work up to two lbs for larger humi's. I have not seasoned a cabinet in this method so I cannot say it works, but I cannot imagine it would not.

2. Brand new sponge and a dish to put it on

3. Distilled water

4. Xikar digital hygrometer-$15 and they work great. If they break, you get a new one...

Day one: Place the sponge soaked in distilled water on dish and place it in the humi. Close your humi for two days. Don't open it. I know you will, you probably want to...but don't. Now wait until day three and forget about the humi