Home Cigar 101

Ageing/Resting

transplanttransplant Posts: 111 ✭✭✭
I'm fairly new to cigar smoking.  Several friends of mine have been smoking them for years, but aren't much into the whole "cigar thing" (telltale sign being that they don't own a humidor).

When  I first read about some folks religiously "resting" their newly-bought smokes, I kind of rolled my eyes a little.  I mean, it's not like the sticks that just arrived in the mail were born yesterday. Then I read about some of you hardcore resters who put your smokes away for years before putting them to the torch.  Jeez!

Balanced against my initial skepticism is that, and this may just be my imagination, I recently noted that some of the sticks that have been in my humidor for a while seem to be a bit smoother and don't leave that lingering "cigar mouth" sensation.  

I need to learn more.

Do all cigars benefit from resting?  Do some benefit more/less?  Is there a recommended "minimum resting period?"  Please educate me.  Thanks.

Kipling was a wise man.

Comments

• YankeeManYankeeMan Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭✭✭
    When I get an order of cigars, I put half in my aging humidor and the rest in my other humidors.  I find that the fuller cigars seem to age a little better,  but I have found that all cigars benefit from aging.

My oldest cigar is about five years in the aging humidor.  That's a cigar that A J Fernandez rolled for me at a cigar event.  I'm saving it for a special occasion which I haven't figured out yet.

I have noticed that even the cigars that have been in my other humidors over time, do taste better than the same cigar smoked immediately upon delivery.

Experiment for a while and see how you like it.  Enjoy!
  • Amos_UmwhatAmos_Umwhat Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Many of your new purchases will be much better in about a month, if you'll leave them in a properly maintained humidor.  Some will continue to improve, some, not so much.