Home Non Cigar Related

Car & Truck Talk

clearlysuspectclearlysuspect Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭✭
edited March 2017 in Non Cigar Related
How many of you work on your own or your wife's vehicles?  I'm no Master Tech by any means but I maintain and repair our vehicles when they break and I like to think I'm a decent mechanic.  

I thought this might be a place where we could share the projects we're undertaking, the problems we're up against, and the useful tips that might help others. 

Ask for help.  Offer advice and suggestions. Or just show us what you're working on. 

As an Aircraft Electrician/Avionics Tech/ Aircraft Mechanic there isn't much that scares me in terms of troubleshooting and repair.  Typically I'll do some reading, watch so videos on YouTube, buy the tools I need and get the job done.  

I have a 2006 Ford F-250 6.0 TurboDiesel Powerstroke 4x4 and my wife has a 2006 Chevy Silverado 4x4.  She has actually become quite the researcher and troubleshooter also, and she's not afraid to climb under the truck and help me drop a transmission or a rear differential. 

So my first bit of gouge to add here: 

During some troubleshooting of a no start condition on my truck I recently discovered an amazing App on my phone called Torque Pro. It is by far the best thing I've ever spent $5 on.   Paired with a cheap $10 ELM327 Bluetooth OBDII adapter this app can out perform some test equipment that cost hundreds and thousands of dollars.   I'm pretty astounded by its capabilities. If you're doing your own maintenance you absolutely need this app!!!
Post edited by clearlysuspect on

Comments

• 0patience0patience Posts: 10,665 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited March 2017
    I am a master/journeyman tech.
    I've done work for several Auto and heavy truck diagnostic companies and online companies.

I posted this some time ago. 
    http://forum.cigar.com/discussion/897532/automotive-diagnostic-apps

In Fumo Pax
    Money can't buy happiness, but it can buy cigars and that's close enough.