Home General Discussion

Whatcha smokin tonight?

Comments

• rwheelwrightrwheelwright Posts: 3,296
    I had a 5 Vegas Triple A last night from the cotm club; I think April or May. Let me tell you, this sucker was strong but there was a flavor there that was soooooooo good. I don't know what it was since I am not good with picking out flavors but the flavor was pronounced on the exhale and the only way I can describe it was "deep". I have some more aging somewhere.
  • I just had a AF Hemingway Signature. There is a Ave Maria Crusader on deck calling my name too...
  • j0z3rj0z3r Posts: 9,403 ✭✭
    Russ55:
    PuroFreak:
    j0z3r:
    Russ55:
    Finally got around to having that Graycliff Crystal in the pirate size. Good smoke. Kind of a dry spicy flavor and a complex aroma very typical of the Graycliff blending style. I suppose some would call this stick "cubanesque". If it were in a more realistic price range I would consider buying them on a regular basis, but as is they kind of priced themselves out of the market, well my market at least.

After that I had some time so I tried out another stick I haven't had yet, the LFD DL Chisel Maduro. It was ok. The maduro seems to have muted some of the power and muttled some of the flavor. It didn't wow me the way the sumatra did. Good smoke, but I will stick with the sumatra.
    Agreed on both points Russ. At msrp the Crystal just isn't worth the money, in the $5-$6 range though, I think it's an excellent buy. I vastly prefer the LFD Ligero and Double Ligero in their sumatra form, the maduro is good, but the sumatra is more than good...on that note, I think you would enjoy the Ligero Oscuro, it preserves much of what the sumatra offers but also brings some qualities of the maduro to the table, that's my personal favorite of both the Ligero and Double Ligero lines.
    +1 on the DL Oscuro! Fantastic smoke!