Home Non Cigar Related
Options

I made this.

Comments

• Options
    lonewolf2011lonewolf2011 Posts: 503
    jlmarta:
    I've been a woodworker for years and like many forms of it but my favorite has to be woodturning. Second would be things like inlay work. My stepson retired from the post office and over the years he collected a few antique P.O. box doors. He asked me to build some sort of display case to show the doors off. I made this for him for Christmas one year.

photo null_zps45029347.jpg
    The front and rear panels are of cherry and are jointed into the case in a free-floating manner so as not to break a glue joint should they expand due to moisture/ humidity. The darker wood is redwood and the inlaid stripes are of sycamore and black-dyed pear wood.
    Awesome inlay work! My granddad did marquetry and scroll work for years. I am pretty comfortable with the scroll saw but my first inlay piece caused a lot of frustration and ended up in the scrap bin.
  • Options
    jlmartajlmarta Posts: 7,881 ✭✭✭✭✭
    lonewolf2011:
    jlmarta:
    lonewolf2011:

I'm starting to get back into scroll sawing, this was cut from a single piece of Baltic birch ply.
    photo 20140207_191653_zps3d5041ae.jpg

I've got a scrollsaw (among other things) and I've tried my hand at it. But I couldn't come close to doing what you did, Matt. What's the size of that piece?
    It's 10x20. After a couple more portraits I want to try doing a large fretwork clock if I can find the time.

I think it's a great job. Especially the fine detail, like the hands for example. If it were a larger piece I think that detail becomes easier. A fretwork clock should be a piece of cake for ya....
  • Options
    lonewolf2011:
    jlmarta: