Home General Discussion
Options

THE NEWBIE WELCOMING THREAD

Comments

• Options
    raisindotraisindot Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭
    Hi! Not exactly a total newbie (I did post one a few weeks ago), but this is my formal 'coming out' here.

Approaching midlife, I've decided to become a cigar hobbyist. Oh, I had smoked before, but not for many years and only at social events when some guy hadn't them out. Maybe I had smoked 10-20 in my whole life.

Anyway, I got into this in full cognitive dissonance mode. I know that smoking in general is bad for me (several friends and family members have died of lung cancer), and that even cigar smoking can't be good if you have all those burning chemicals rolling around your mouth, but I rationalize by saying that if I smoke only one cigar a week I may be lessening the odds.

Anyway, I know very little about cigars and am starting my journey by getting sampler kits from Cigar.com and The Other Big Cigar Company. Even though I'm sure I'm probably cutting, lighting, and drawing wrong, I think I've come to some general conclusions after going through around 20 different cigars so far.

1. I tend to favor full-bodied cigars that produce lots of smoke. So far, my favs have been Joya Nicaragua Antono, 5 Vegas Cask Strength, CAO Gold Maduro, Morrow Castle, and G2 Turbo.

2. I really prefer darker, oilier wrappers over Connecticut wrappers.

3. Some of the "highly rated" cigars do nothing for me. I hated the Cohiba Red Dot. The Padilla Miami, Cain Daytona and Ave Maria that came with my samplers were okay but nothing special. Even the Alec Bradley Prensado, while quite nice, wasn't nearly on the same tier as my 'favorites.'

4. I think I prefer Nicaraguan tobacco over other kinds, and probably have more of an affinity for the AJ Fernandez productions I've tried.

Of coure, all of this may change as I go through the next set of cigars, those in the 'Cigar Journal Top 25' sampler and the 'Alec Bradley sampler' kit.

Cheers!