Home Pipes

What is in your pipe?

Comments

• Thanatos0320Thanatos0320 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭
    Gray4lines:
    Thanatos0320:
    Midnight. Its an aromatic local blend. Its great for me, since I'm new to pipes, because it has no bite. Gray4lines what is Virginia flake? I see you talk about it a lot.
    Virginia is a type of tobacco. Usually mild, sweet, maybe grassy. Flake is when tobacco is pressed together into a block, and sliced into thin strips.

How do you go about packing that into a pipe? What's better about that than the normal looking tobacco that isn't in a sheet/strip?
  • Gray4linesGray4lines Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Nothing better. Just preference. I like flakes a whole lot.

There are a ton of ways to pack a flake:
    Rub it out You can Rub it in between your fingers and it pretty much turns into a ribbon-cut.
    Fold and stuff fold the flake up over and over and then stuff it in the pipe (i usually do this and rub a little bit out on top to make lighting easier). If you fold lengthwise over and over, you get what look like "french fries" and you can just stand them up straight in the pipe. Just like McDonald's putting fries in a cardboard pouch-thing.
    Cube cut cut the flake into little cubes and gravity feed into the pipe. I do this sometimes.

Flakes burn very slowly and cool and age very well. A tall, slim, pipe like a stack or dublin is usually recommended for flakes. it holds em close together so they burn down better. It can take some practice to get the pack right, but I actually think flakes are easier to pack.
    LLA - Lancero Lovers of America
  • Thanatos0320Thanatos0320 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭
    Gray4lines:

Rub it out You can Rub it in between your fingers and it pretty much turns into a ribbon-cut.